RPi4 router, slow speeds. How to diagnose?

Trying to build a RPi4 OpenWrt router. LAN is connected to the hardwired NIC; WAN is via a USB3 NIC dongle (rtl8152 driver)

wired connection speed testing is topping out at 100mbps which seems too coincidental so i'm thinking there's something wrong in the configuration that is having the WAN or the LAN being treated as a 100mbps NIC and not a gigabit NIC?

but maybe not? is there something "more" i need to do after getting luci installed and the router up and running to finish RPi4 set-up as a router, or, if not, how should I try troubleshooting this.

Version of OpenWrt? Does iperf3 show similar performance? What does the NIC(s) report as linkspeed?

(sorry, relative noob here)

version is most current Snapshot (i feebly built up the package myself using a guide online)

don't know what iperf3 is. edit: ok, i installed the package through LuCi. but i don't know the syntax to test it. edit2: ok, i got it running and tried an external test; shows slow bandwidths. edit3: ok, ran iperf3 as a server on the router connected to it as a client to run a test on the LAN... showing 900+ mbps.

how can I see what the NIC is reporting? (i had tried the ethernet dongle in my windows PC and it showed as a gbps)

ok did a little bit of poking around.

Version of openwrt = snapshot
iperf3 results = similarly slow bandwidth to internet; 900+ mbps on LAN
i don't know how to find what the NIC reports as a linkspeed though

Pull the ethernet cable, and reinsert it.

Run dmesg immediately afterwards.

which ethernet? to WAN?

Yes to WAN. And maybe switch to a different Ethernet cable yours might not be a gigabit capable cable.

Have you connected the dongle on the USB2 or USB3 connector on the RaspberryPi?