RPi 4 as wired router with external wifi APs - hardware rec's

I'd like to replace my ISP's lousy router with my own setup. I have Centurylink fiber, which is accessed via PPPoE.

I currently have a Raspberry Pi 4 (8GB RAM) and would like to use this as my router. I understand that the wifi hardware on board the pi is not the greatest, so I thought I would avoid using that.

My goal is to have a setup like so:

1. Fiber modem ↔️ Pi 4 onboard ethernet

2. Pi 4 ↔️ USB ethernet dongle ↔️ switch ↔️ wireless APs (I am thinking two APs for my oddly-shaped home)

Some wired devices will also be connected to the switch

My question is really for hardware recommendations for the switch and wireless APs. Also general feedback about whether this plan is sane or not is appreciated!

Ubiquiti APs seem to be the hot thing, so I was thinking of getting one of their cheaper Wifi 6 APs to see how it behaves with the pi router. I've never used Ubiquity's stuff before so I am not even sure if this is a supported configuration.

In terms of technical expertise - I am a software developer however I am not a linux sysadmin nor a networking guru so while I expect to be able to pull this off, I am prepared for some stumbles along the way :slight_smile:

Sure, it'll work.

Get any dumb gigabit switch, or a smart one, if you need that kind of functionality.
There's smart switch support in openwrt, look for the RTL838x SoC - Support for RTL838x based managed switches

I'd use Belkin RT3200s as APs, configured as in https://openwrt.org/docs/guide-user/network/wifi/dumbap, they're usually $70 on ebay, new.

3 Likes

Thanks for your advice, @frollic!

Is it necessary to have switch/AP hardware that can also install OpenWrt? I am assuming I can just configure whatever software they have installed if OpenWrt is not an option for those devices.