Routing between two ethernet interfaces

Hi,

I'm new to OpenWRT so please forgive me if I ask the obvious.

Usually I get internet through a cable modem but their service is currently so horrible that I threw a cable over to my neighbours house to borrow some of his DSL connection until mine is fixed. So I need to temporarily connect two networks.

I have a RasPi 3B with an additional USB-to-Ethernet adapter 'eth1'. The built in port is 'br-lan'. OpenWRT is installed and running, both interfaces are working. Wifi on the Pi will not be used.

On my side is the cable router with a DHCP server. I cannot change its default gateway.
Network is 192.168.0.x. DHCP starts at .20. 'br-lan' has a fixed IP address of 192.168.0.19.
I plan to give the router a static route for 0.0.0.0 to 192.168.0.19 to divert all outbound traffic to one of the raspi ports.

My neighbour has basically the same setup but with DSL and uses 192.168.2.x. I cannot change anything on his side.

So - my side:
'br-lan'
Protocol: static address
IPv4: 192.168.0.19/24

neighbour:
'eth1'
Protocol: DHCP
IPv4: 192.168.2.120/24

What do I need to configure to route all outbound traffic from 'br-lan' to 'eth1'? The assumption is that the cable modem will send everything to 'br-lan'.
I plan to add traffic shaping later but first I need to make that work.

Thanks!

The DHCP client should automatically add a default route, which can be disabled in the advance settings.

2 Likes

Yes, it does that. That is the routing table:

Active IPv4-Routes Network Target IPv4-Gateway Metric Table
Ralf 0.0.0.0/0 192.168.2.1 0 main
lan 192.168.0.0/24 - 0 main
Ralf 192.168.2.0/24 - 0 main

(Ralf is the name of my neighbour)
So Ralf has a default route on that side to the gateway (192.168.2.1) which is correct.
But how do I enable routing between the two sides?