Router "stuck" after changing netmask option in lan interface

Router: GL-MT1300 running LuCI openwrt-19.07 branch (git-21.189.23240-7b931da) / OpenWrt 19.07.8 r11364-ef56c85848

Per the title. I pulled the network config file from the router via terminal and changed:

option netmask '255.255.255.0'

to:

option netmask '255.255.240.0'

for the lan interface because I need to the larger subnet for a few hundred static IPs (this is strictly for organizational purposes)

I then sent the file to the router and rebooted it and now it won't come back online fully. The light at the front of my GL-MT1300 just slowly pulses.

I am very new to networking and have no idea why this change would seemingly break the router. Is there a better way to perform this change? I didn't see anything in the Luci interface for changing it (I could have missed it though)

Thanks.

The change should be ok.

"pulled" ... "sent the file"? How did you edit the file on PC?
Are you sure that you didn't change line endings from LF (Linux) to CRLF (PC) ?

Use editor in the terminal. E.g. install 'nano' to get an easy to use editor.

Netmask is in LuCI in the LAN interface settings.

1 Like

I used the scp command in terminal to drop it on my desktop and then edited it using vsc2, saved it, and then used scp to send it back to the router. Working on a mac so I don't think it should have messed up the line endings but there's a lot I don't know admittedly. Clearly it didn't like something. I have successfully pulled and pushed (maybe better word) the dhcp config in the past (once I figured out what I was doing wrong) using the same method.

I guess I will need to reflash the router and next time I will try using the GUI, or look up how to do it using uci? Doesn't seem like it'll come back online anymore. :frowning:

Yes that messes up the line endings (been there done that).

I use WinSCP but then just edit the file in place that way it will work.