[Solved] Router recommendation? Linksys WRT3200ACM

Hi all. I'm new to using openwrt and other firmwares. I've always used my trusty archer c7, but i'm having rather big trust issues with it (lets just leave it at that, doesn't matter for my question anyway). Anyway, i'm currently able to afford a decent router (150-200 euroish) but I can't see the wood for the trees.

I was thinking about the WRT 3200ACM, but i'm reading conflicting things about this device and it's support for other firmwares (something about a wifi driver being inavailable). An other thing concering me is the launchdate and the fact that i've seen these particular routers since I was a teenager. Makes me wonder if there are more recent routers with better hardware and support for openwrt and/or dd-wrt

My current setup is a modem for my ISP that I can set to bridge-mode, router, 1-2 devices connected though ethernet, at least 2 phones connected through wifi and several wireless connected IoT devices. Max bandwith of 200 mbit/s

Some functions that are an absolute must: ddns, router VPN (and adblock?), guest wlan and decent throughput.

I'm not normally one for creating topics like this, I like to check out things myself, but I really need some reassurance on this. I'd hate to buy something that's 200 euros and end up finding out that I have to tweak the hell out of it to make it work.

Super grateful for peopols helping me! :slight_smile:

The WRT3200ACM/WRT32X is a very good device, 2.4Ghz is a bit wonky but 5Ghz works very good. It does go on sale for much less than 200 EUR btw

An option would be to repurpose the C7 as an AP and get something like an edgerouter x or an espressobin, but as stated above the wireless on the rango is not that bad (or at least it WorksForMe).