Router OpenWrt for VPN on UK Fibre

Greetings everyone
I am a UK resident who has a fibre connection (not to the house) with BT Openreach and my ISP is NowTV (subsidiary to SKY) and i currently use the horrible NOWTV hub 1 router to connect to the www.
I have just signed up with NordVPN and i am now looking for a new broadband router that i can use with this new service and my current ISP.

My network has 1 desktop (wired), several games consoles (wired), 2 smart tv's (wired), Synology NAS (wired), several mobiles (wireless), 2 tablets(wireless), 3 laptops (wireless) and a couple of other devices, google home (wireless) printer (wired) with 3 unmanaged switches and an old BT Hub to provide additional wireless coverage.
We use Netfilx UK (would also like to use USA via VPN), NOWTV, Amazon Prime, google home, spotify.

I need a router/modem that can cope with this, i am not that bothered about the number of connections 4 LAN would be good but i could cope with just 2.

I have seen on Amazon.co.uk several mini routers and full blown routers, but i don't know if they will work with NowTV's "unique" ISP methods.

Budget....around £100 if that is possible?

Not sure if i would also need an old BT Open Reach modem to work with these, i know these are available on ebay very cheaply.

Any advice or guidance would be appreciated

thanks in advance
Matt

Yay!! Youre the first person ive seen in over a month who is asking “what should i buy”, vs ‘ive already bought something, will it do what i want?”

1. First, a word about modems. Because they are mostly all using closed source drivers, there are only a few all-in-one devices that openwrt can support the modems on. But, that doesnt necessarily matter, since most isps have at least a basic modem or have an upgrade option, and openwrt has support for hundreds of routers out there and they can be configured to work together just fine.