Reverting E8450 to stable build?

Hello,

I'm a total beginner with openwrt, and I bought this router yesterday with the intention to set up sqm. I attempted to follow the guide on github, but I mistakenly installed the snapshot recovery image, and because of that I am only able to install the snapshot sysupgrade file. The stable one errors out if I try to install it.

What's the best way to get the stable version installed on my router? Do I need to do a full restore of the vendor firmware? Is there a way to remove the snapshot recovery, and install the stable recovery and then install the stable sysupgrade?

Thanks for any help.

Sadly, there is no easy way back. The v1.1.1 installer changes things drastically and in incompatible ways. Although a few people have had success in rolling back, it involves the use of extra hardware to access the onboard serial port, a TFTP server both for backing up and restoring the data, and detailed knowledge of U-Boot and how to use it to completely repartition a device. Not only that, but there are additional risks at present with multiple flashes on the E8450.

In other words, if the snapshot does what you need it to do, you'd be better off sticking with that at least until the next version of the installer is released. The next version will hopefully solve some of the issues you probably aren't yet experiencing, but you'll still be stuck with snapshot for now.

On the bright side, the next major revision will likely require the new installer anyway, so consider yourself ready in advance for the next major version bump.

Side question: When you followed the install guide, did you do the backups when you were instructed to do so?

1 Like