Relocate files to RAM: howto?

Dear folks,

my first posting here. I'm from Germany and started with LEDE just a few weeks ago, with no experience in OpenWRT yet. Had some problems with starting, but managed to solve them.

But I think about relocating specific files to RAM. Currently I run a TP-link WDR3600 with extroot (currently formatted as ext4, will be moving to f2fs soon, as f2fs 1.8.0 is out now and already installed) and start learning how to configure asterisk. I found out that /usr/lib/asterisk/astdb.sqlite3 is frequently written to, to my understanding ext4 doesn't relocate writes to databases when records are changed only, so I suspect this to quickly wear out my extroot USB stick. Don't know if f2fs solves this problem (it should, but I am not a developer yet and don't fully understand how it works exactly). I already have a crontab entry to backup /overlay to NAS twice a week so I can quickly recover from extroot breakdown without losing too much recent changes, but think about how to really prevent this kind of breakdown by limiting write access frequency.

Question: are there any standard ways to relocate files to RAM in a reliable way, so the files are copied back to overlay on shutdown/reboot and are preserved safely in case a blackout (no proper shutdown) has occurred? It seems that running a job on startup is easy with the @reboot target in crontab, and also a regular backup (let's say every two hours) via crontab is also easy, but I found no easy way to do this on shutdown. Except modifying the start/stop procedure in /etc/init.d/asterisk, which gives me some weird feeling in the stomach.

Anyone any ideas about this?

curious greets from germany

codefish

As you just poweroff the device and don't perform a shutdown then it's going to be hard. That's the nature of an embedded device. Running a cron job is probably the best you can do.

@greybeard: thanks for your reply. My idea is to script the following way, in readable pseudocode: