Relayd interfering with DHCP?

I'm going to start with the problem I'm trying to solve, in case I'm going about it all wrong.

I have two wired networks - lan and guest, managed by my router running OpenWRT 23.05.3. Each network has its own subnet, and everything works as expected with this arrangement. The router supplies DHCP for both networks.

The guest network does have limited access to resources on the lan network via firewall rules, but one thing that does not work at all (as expected) is broadcasts -- in this case, discovering a printer. I have some experience using relayd to get around this limit -- I have a wireless bridge device that has its own subnet for wired clients, and those clients can discover printers when I configure a relay bridge using relayd.

However, when I attempted to create a similar setup on my main router, with the goal of allowing devices on the guest network to discover a printer on the lan network, something went strange. I think perhaps DHCP requests from one network are being relayed to the other, resulting in confusion. Whatever the cause, some clients were suddenly not successful in connecting to my WAP (a separate device, which was not changed). To be clear, I don't want to relay DHCP, just printer discovery broadcasts. How could I do that? Is there perhaps a way to make a firewall rule that would prevent the relay bridge fro seeing DHCP? Or another way to do this entirely?

By “printer discovery broadcasts” do you mean mDNS? If so, you’ll probably want an mDNS reflector like Avahi.

I think it's SMB discovery, but the printer may support multiple types of discovery (I didn't dig too deep after relayd worked on my other device). Also, there may be other types of things I might want to discover, like DLNA devices, etc.

Maybe provide PCAP? Cannot be 10 protocols are blocked.