Regarding the tp-link C59 v2

This is my first time setting up OpenWRT so I'm a bit hesitant to use a snapshot but the techdata page for this router suggests it (https://openwrt.org/toh/hwdata/tp-link/tp-link_archer_c59_v2)

According to some of my own investigation on the github the router looks like it should be supported on latest stable but I'd like to double check that here before potentially bricking the thing. Is there any reason in particular this techdata page hasn't been updated?

If it is supported in 18.06.1, I would definitely start there.

The wiki is end-user maintained, so it often lags in updates, even for very popular models.

If the dataentry has been created properly, there's not much lagging.
The dataentry for Archer C59 v2 however is sub-standard.

@JamesT42 would you mind finishing what you have started?

1 Like

Great to see that data-entry-driven fields "auto-magically" update.

I'd still be careful with "blindly following" text entries on the wiki that often speak of and/or link to point-in-time files.

There is no support for C59 v2 in the latest stable 18.06.1, only for v1.
C59 v2 has only snapshot support.

I'm unfamiliar with how support for things works in this project but the pull request adding support for v2 was apparently merged July 30th (https://github.com/openwrt/openwrt/pull/1054) which is what I was basing that assumption on.

Well I thought it would be better to have an entry instead of no entry. v2 is supported in snapshots, as the wiki entry states correctly.
I will make a note to edit the entry with more info when i find the time and find a source for that info, as wikidevi only has v1 and v3 info apparently.

I'm running current snapshots on this model.

There's nothing wrong with that, in fact, that's how it's meant to work. Plenty of entries exist for devices only supported in snapshot so far. The confusion stems from someone thinking it might be supported in 18.06.x already.