Ran out of storage capacity on my Linksys WRT1900AC

Hi

I've compiled my own router firmware several times using the image builder on a Linux OS installing only the packages I need. However, there are some more packages I would like to add from the repository through OPKG and unfortunately I have run out of room.

The specifications to my router are 128MB NAND memory and 256MB RAM, but I can't see how my own compiled firmware and the respective packages cam equal 100MB or so, unless the partitons have been setup in some weird way.

To my knowledge reading somewhere my router does use RAM for one of the partitions. However, looking at the table below doesn't make perfect sense to me as I'm still quite new to Linux and it's file systems.
mount%20points

Can someone briefly explain the partitions from fstab above and suggest any ideas of how I can allocate more storage capacity for packages. A temporary fix will do in the meantime but mid-term I would like to be able fix this in my next compile.

Many thanks

Will

This is from a mamba:

root@bsaedgy:/proc# cat mtd
dev:    size   erasesize  name
mtd0: 00100000 00020000 "u-boot"
mtd1: 00040000 00020000 "u_env"
mtd2: 00040000 00020000 "s_env"
mtd3: 00100000 00020000 "devinfo"
mtd4: 02800000 00020000 "kernel1"
mtd5: 02500000 00020000 "rootfs1"
mtd6: 02800000 00020000 "kernel2"
mtd7: 02500000 00020000 "ubi"
mtd8: 02600000 00020000 "syscfg"
mtd9: 00780000 00020000 "unused_area"
mtd10: 00008000 00008000 "spi0.0"

there are 2 partitions of about ~40MB each for your image contents. Best to bake everything into an image when creating the binary rather than installing bits later. But with there only being ~40MB per image, there should be plenty of room for everything needed in an image, with the fail-safe feature of being able to go back to the previous known good partition.