Question about replacement of the WLAN Hardware in Asus RT-N66U

Greetings friends.

I own Asus RT-N66U. Recently it has broken down and I'm going to give it in for repairs.
Today I had an idea and I want to know from you whether it is possible to implement it.
The idea is to replace the Broadcom BCM4331 chip to another one - with full Lede's support.
The question arises whether it is possible to compile the firmware for my router with the new chip.

Or is it better to buy a new router? :slight_smile:

I apologize for my English and
Thanks in advance for answers.

You may not need a custom firmware.

You probably can install the correct driver after flashing the router.

That's probably easier.

2 Likes

If you have to ask, you won't be able to do it. A BGA can't be replaced with a 5 bucks soldering iron, nor would you be able to supply/ generate new calibration data.

2 Likes

I have a familiar master with a professional soldering station, chip replacement is not a problem. I'm interested in the order of actions to make it work.

That still doesn't make it anymore practical.

Let's look at it this way, assume you'd get your device back into perfect working order...
Thanks to this very same wlan chip (BCM4331 for both radios), the Asus RT-N66U is among the worst choices for running LEDE/ OpenWrt in the first place (only very, very basic wlan support via b43, up to 54 MBit/s at best, no other alternatives, no hope for future improvements).