Question about QoS

Hi there,

I'm not a newbie to OpenWrt but somehow, I'm a bit lost finding the right entry into QoS

I want to do a QoS / traffic shaping on inbound internet traffic (not local originated traffic)

I'm using OpenWrt as a firewall on a central router (BananaPI).
Internet is connected by 2 VLANs: eth0.8 and eth0.10 (DSL and LTE backup), the clients are distributed over some more VLANs for separating servers, normal clients, remote working clients (for home office), guests and streaming.

How to I sort the internet traffic to the VLANs/subnets/devices into e.g. htb classes?
For example: Servers, normal clients and remote working clients are the highest prio with a guaranteed minimum rate. Streaming is normal with no guarantees and guests are the lowest prio also with no guarantee.

I think this could be achieved with a htb scheduler but I didn't found answers how & where to mark the packets and how to deal with the outbound interfaces. Or would I do this before the internet traffic is routed to the subnets (after demasquerading)?

Thanks for any kind of help!

Hi AndiDepressivum, welcome to the community!

From the sounds of it you don't control the choke point on the other side of the inbound traffic. Traffic shaping is only useful... scratch that... traffic shaping is only possible where you control the choke point. The point where on one side you have a faster connection than on the other.

The only mechanisms for traffic shaping are delaying or dropping packets. Doing either after the packet has arrived over the slow link is unhelpful. You can't shape inbound DSL traffic unless you have something on the other side of the DSL link making decisions on which packets to let through.

You can shape your outbound traffic in the hopes that inbound will approximately mirror that, but unfortunately most inbound traffic is asymmetric to the size of the outbound request.