Question about OpenWrt security

Hi there,

I read an article this morning about routers security and they say that most of them (to not say all of them) were lacking of some Linux security features. Basically they test routers factory firmware with features like ASLR, DEP, RELRO and stack guards and the result are surprisingly low in term of coverage.

Although I'm familiar with the two first features (I'm a SW developer of desktop app), I don't know exactly what are the 2 last ones. But my question is, they are talking about default factory FW, but I was wondering what about my favorite FW OpenWrt? Does someone know if those security feature are used in the firmwares images? If yes, is that enable on all devices) or only some of them only (maybe there HW limitation, I don't know)?

I am just curious to know. For record, here's the article I was referencing to: https://www.zdnet.com/article/most-home-routers-dont-take-advantage-of-linuxs-improved-security-features/

Thank you :slight_smile:

1 Like

Regarding MIPS

https://cyber-itl.org/assets/papers/2018/Linux_MIPS_missing_foundations.pdf

Page seven,

If your system is running a Linux kernel version 4.8 or higher we recommend checking for the
emulation page in the maps. Again with shell access on the system,

cat /proc/self/maps
and look for a single executable anonymous mapping. On 32 bit systems it should be located at
0x7ffff000 and on 64 bit systems it should be 0xfffffff000. An example of the proc entries is
shown below,marked in red. If your system has the mapping but it is at a different address, it is
possible your system is using a non-standard page size. In the following output we note the fix
to the executable stack, but also the creation of the new emulation segment as readable,
writable, and executable at the expected fixed address range.

Here is some discussion in german and a claim that it is active on tested versions

Hi,