Quectel RM520N-GL T-Mobile connection problems

Hello all,
This isn't an OpenWRT issues I don't think, but I'm trying to do this on OpenWRT and hoping maybe someone here has the expertise to help me figure out my problem.

Let me preface this by saying, I really don't know what I'm doing here :stuck_out_tongue: I'm attempting to get something to work, and don't really understand all the ins and outs of it. I have some networking knowledge and quite a bit about IT in general, but very little low level knowledge about how these cellular modems work and are configured. I don't know if what I'm trying to do is even possible. I cannot find any posts on the internet with someone doing specifically this, but there are things that seem similar enough that I think it should work?

So anyway, what I've got.
Banana Pi R4
OpenWRT version r26504
Quectel RM520N-GL 5G Cellular modem
T-Mobile sim card

Now the T-Mobile sim card is just a standard sim card they gave me at the store. We recently started a new T-Mobile account and they had a special where we got a 3rd line for free with the 2 new lines. So, I figured, hey maybe I can just take that 3rd line and throw it in a my router as a backup WAN at home. The plan for the SIM card is their current NEXT plan that has 50 GB of 5G hotspot data available. I didn't know if doing this would use hotspot data or not, but I figured as a backup if it just acted as and used hotspot data that would be fine. If I take this same sim card and put it in a 5g hotspot device I have it connects and works fine using some of the 50 GB of hotspot data. And if I put the sim in a phone it also works fine and does not use the hotspot data for data transferred on the phone. I can use PDANet on the phone as well to hotspot without using hotspot data because it does something to look like the data is coming from the phone itself I guess.