Quarantine new devices

guys please can you help the noob

i am new to OpenWRT

is there a way to by default, quarantine new devices when they connect to openwrt via dhcp?
so in otherwords any new device that connects to openwrt goes to a quarantine pool with no internet access

then after connecting i will give them access to the internet etc. by moving them out of the quarantine state

any help greatly appreciated

1 Like

You could set up IEEE802.1X, in combination with managed switches(-only), not trivial, but the enterprise solution to this question.

The easiet would probably be to use static leases based on the device mac address and pre-define where it goes in the DHCP server.

Or have a closed/isolated VLAN/Fw zone/interface on one or more ports where you connect a device for inspection before moving it to a port where it will be used.
This works the same for WiFi SSID also.

Method of use is very much dependent on why you want to isolate the client?

thank you very much for your support

flygarn12 - the main reason is that i have clients whom require WiFi access and they have customers that connect to their wifi system(s) and they want me to allow their clients / users to connect but not utilize the internet until they have been given authorization to have internet access.

maybe there is a better way to do this?

any help greatly appreciated

Maybe you could setup a captive portal and authenticate users with user/pass.

thank you for your support, much appreciated

trendy - sometimes the client(s) have iot devices that they connect

flygarn12
The easiet would probably be to use static leases based on the device mac address and pre-define where it goes in the DHCP server. - the clients have different devices, iot, printers et al that connect at random if and when required.