Purchased device with OWRT, minimal experience and can't get it to function

Hi all, I bought an Allnet ALL0258N from ebay and it has OpenWRT installed. This is a great project, but I really just want a simple solution. I can run basic terminal commands but I'm not an expert with this kind of work, I've spent way too much time trying to get it to function (it no longer shuts down my gateway's internet connection so that's nice) and now I can't even connect to it. I tried the failsafe mode since I guess the regular reset doesn't work but still can't connect. I'm confident I'm just doing something really basic wrong so sorry for the newb question. Thanks so much for your help.

The default IP configuration for OpenWRT is 192.168.1.1 with DHCP server enabled,
so if your computer is connected to the internet over WiFi and you plug in the ethernet cable to the OpenWRT device at the same time, you might lose connection to the internet, as your computer tries to use ALL0258N (which is not yet connected to the internet).

If you can still connect to ALL0258N, could you post the output of uci show network?
Can you remember which settings you changed? Maybe you have to set IP address manually on the computer.

Thanks for the reply! I have tried every combination of DHCP and several manual IPs over both LAN and WLAN. I'm worried it's in a different mode because I ran failsafe mode reset and all the lights came on and stayed on, which didn't happen in normal mode. I'm not sure what uci is, sorry. Terminal didn't recognize the command, so I'm guessing it's something I need to install from OWRT?

I should sáy I can connect to the allnet itself with standard static IP but no response from 192.168.1.1 or anything.

Have you tried pressing the reset button for 10 seconds while switching the device on?