Puerto Rico: Long Distance Wifi Link

Does anyone have any recommendations for building a long-distance wifi links to help restore some basic communication links in Puerto Rico?

Even better if you have some hardware you would like to donate.

I'm looking for something that can link between Puerto Rico and the Dominican Republic which at a minimum is 80 miles, but more realistically 120-150 miles.

Routers?
Directional Antennas?
Solar Panels?

-Jamie

1 Like

I'm no expert but that's a long way and you'd need a lot of equipment. Is there already signal coming from DR?

You'll have to get up high to get a line-of-sight. But that's just one small part of the equation.

PR must have undersea fiber cables???

Microwave might work over those distances but I'd think you'd need a LOT of power for TX.

This is a deep-pocket problem, or in other words it will require a lot of money.

There are many parts of PR which don't have cell service and probably won't have it for a while, there are still some counties that are reporting 100% cell phone towers down, and many counties in the 75-85% range.

Height is not a problem, there are places close to the coasts of both islands that are fairly
high. I plotted the path here and it looks like line of sight is not an issue.

I'm sure that San Juan will be up and running soon, but many places especially on the West Coast will be offline for many months.

There was a group set up a ~240 mile wifi link in 2007 using a pair of WRT54Gs.

If you want something reliable it'll cost some money.

So you have signal already coming from DR?
PR mostly served by undersea cable?

In doing more research it looks like the WRT54G did not perform more than a few kilobytes per second. Some routers were provided by Berkeley that had been modified to use TDMA.

I found the the code on Github from this team, but it is an abandoned project, and specifically says it doesn't work.