PPPoE with Vigor 167 - How to set up OpenWRT?

Hello,

Up front: As a networking-beginner, I don't really know what information is needed. Please let me know what information I should add, I will append it asap.

The Goal
I want to connect my Linksys WRT1900AC (OpenWRT 21.02.3) router to DSL-internet via a Vigor 167 modem.

What did I try?
I connected the Vigor 167 to the DSL socket in the wall and connected Port 1 of the modem to the routers 'Internet' port.

I edited the existing WAN interface via LuCi to use the PPPoE-protocol, typed in username (1und1/ab0000-000@online.de) and password given by my ISP and applied.

Result
The WAN interface gives me the error 'Connection attempt failed'

How could you help me?
As I am very new to this whole topic of networking, I would appreciate a link to a noob-friendly guide to set up a system as described above or a hint how I can learn to do that. Although I am very sure that I am not the first one with this set up, I couldn't find good resources on the topic. I guess I don't even know what to ask for.

I have to add that I am also using a PiHole to filter DNS-requests (setup in the LAN-interface with 6,192.168.10.132) and a NordVPN-connection set up after this guide. Maybe that complicates things, I don't reall know. Everything works when I use my Fritzbox 7430 before the Linksys router. But I want to get rid of the Fritzbox, the outside-IP from my ISP should be directly at the WAN interface. Currently, the Interfaces look like this:

The WAN interface gets the IP from the Fritzbox.

Any help is very much appreciated!

First of all you should log in to the Vigor directly from a computer. Do a few things there:

1. check that the Modem is set to bridge mode, as said by Yorper.
  2. change the Vigors Subnet to something different from your openwrt subnets. Use IP:10.0.0.1 Subnet: 255.255.255.0/24 under Lan >> General Setup, for instance. You should do this to acces your modem later from within the lan.