Possible issue with mt7621_netgear_sercomm_bzv.dtsi

I've decided to make a post here rather than the issue tracker because I'm new to this and I'm not sure I'm right.

Anyways, here's what's been going on. I have a NETGEAR Nighthawk AC2400, which according to this commit, is equivalent to the NETGEAR R6700 V2. So I went and tried to flash the factory image, but all I got was a bootloop. Using nmrpflash, I recovered my router and found that all my settings had remained unchanged (not sure if this is normal). Now, using telnet on the stock firmware, I took a look at my routers partition table and found that the kernel partition is a different size than what is listed in mt7621_netgear_sercomm_bzv.dtsi.

So I see two different possibilities. The first is that not all of these routers have the same partition sizes for whatever reason, which seems plausible after reading this thread. The other possibility is that my router is not actually equivalent to the R6700 V2.

I haven't actually confirmed that the partition size is what caused my router to be unable to boot OpenWRT, but it seems highly likely. If it turns out to be the case that my router is equivalent to the R6700 V2, I've been looking at these two patches which might fix the issue (1 and 2).

If anyone more knowledgeable could chime in that would be great!

edit: forgot to post the picture of the parition table.

That shouldn't matter. I think MT7621 uses a dynamic kernel/rootfs splitter on OpenWrt. OpenWrt only touches the parts of the flash that the OEM usually allocates to the actual firmware, and it doesn't touch any configuration partitions and whatnot to make it possible to revert to OEM. The way OpenWrt looks at the usable space is e.g. 8 MiB for OpenWrt, and it splits that into kernel + rootfs + writable overlay at its own discretion, as long as it can squeeze that into those 8 MiB.

You'll need serial to see what's going wrong with the OpenWrt boot process.

Hmm, well that would explain that.