Port forward wireguard server from behind wireguard client

Hello,

I am relatively new to networking and I would like to run a Wireguard-Server on my NAS, inside my LAN. My LAN is behind a Wireguard client running on my OpenWrt router, which was setup using this guide: https://mullvad.net/en/help/running-wireguard-router

I have been trying for 3 days but I can not figure out how to port forward the wg-server to my OpenWrt WAN. Adding WAN to the LAN forwards (I don't know if this is even safe) did not work and neither did my attempts at adding traffic rules.

To be clear, are you trying to port forward thru Mulivad WG assigned IP/interface or to your ISP-assigned address?

You have setup your WG client with a "kill switch" meaning you block output via the WAN.

You have to allow traffic from LAN to WAN for your NAS with a firewall traffic rule e.g.:

config rule
        option name 'allow-to-wan'
        option src 'lan'
        list src_ip 'IP-of NAS'
        option dest 'wan'
        option target 'ACCEPT'

You can restrict it to a certain port also to make it more specific

Next problem is that you also have to make sure that the WG traffic is going out via the WAN and not via the VPN.
For this you need Policy Based Routing (PBR).
You can install the full PBR package which has a handy setting just for that purpose, see:

or install PBR manually e.g. https://github.com/egc112/OpenWRT-egc-add-on/tree/main/pbr-via-wan

2 Likes

Unfortunately Mullvad stopped allowing port forward via the VPN it was abused for hiding a lot of criminal activities :frowning:

1 Like

Do i have to remove my current configuration and switch to PBR or is PBR compatible with my current configuration?

The ISP assigned interface

PBR should be compatible with your current situation

OK I'll look into it thank you for your help

1 Like

I tried setting this up by forwarding a docker container with a web GUI I can open inside a browser to test if it is working.