Pogoplug E02 stock uboot - cant create .img & ubifs

I've read the instructions on the CloundEngines Pogoplug device page many times & I might be going crazy!
I'm an embedded s/w Engineer by training, but a relative novice when talking about embedded Linux.

looking at the instructions is seems very clear what to do, but I am having problems getting the .img & ubifs files from the 19.07.01 .bin file linked to on the device page. I read & noted the comment about things not working since 20 Aug 2019.

I downloaded the Firmware for OpenWrt install (when I have stock firmware). The checksum is correct :slight_smile:

My problem is this. when I try to extract files from this ###factory.bin (using binwalk -e) on Ubuntu Linux. I get this response "WARNING: Extractor.execute failed to run external extractor 'ubireader_extract_files -o '%%ubifs-root%%' '%e'': [Errno 2] No such file or directory: 'ubireader_extract_files': 'ubireader_extract_files' "

I've added various external extractors including Squashfs & still I get the above message. In desperation I even tried downloading the 18.06.4 version with the same outcome.

I'm wondering are the instructions on the page correct i.e
Make sure that the following files from the bin/kirkwood folder are accessible through the tftpserver.

• If you intend to install a second stage bootloader: openwrt-kirkwood-pogo_e02_second_stage-u-boot.img

• openwrt-kirkwood-pogoe02-rootfs.ubifs

I wish to KEEP the existing bootloader (not ready to take the risk!)
Should I be using binwalk or is there a more appropriate tool?

I did download from another page, a file called u-boot.img (for the Pogo-E02) & followed the instructions. I successfully programmed the original MTD1: (0x100000) with the contents. So my PogoPlug boots to the point where it checksums the contents of MTD1 & aborts!

Any help is greatly appreciated. I'm suspecting this will be relatively simple to fix but have exhausted what google has to offer.