Picking a good router as AC-Wireless client

Hey there,

I've been using OpenWRT for a couple of years now and was really excited to find LEDE being it's successor.

So for my case at home:
For my needs I have been working on a wireless solution with an TP-Link WDR4300, connecting it to our ISP's router/modem via 5GHz and relayd. It's working quite well but I am having random connection losses from time to time and the bandwidth caps at around 100/25 Mbit Up/Down while the maximum is 400/25 Mbit Up/Down.

I am getting the full bandwitdh over a ASUS PCE-AC88 which is an AC-WiFi card that doesn't run on Linux sadly thus I am trying to "outsource" this issue by using an ethernet port + client router.

After reading lots of forum threads and articles in the old OpenWRT forum I am interested in buying either the TP-Link Archer C7 v.2 or the D-Link Dir-860L v.B1. I am looking for a good wireless range in that case in hope to get rid of the irregular connection losses while bumping my connection speed using AC-Wireless.

Any suggestions which of these two would perform better?

Hi Karmek! Luckily for you there is a thread comparing the two of them based on real life expirement:

If you have a 400/25 link, then the Archer C7 v2 will definitively not suffice since it cannot do more than 120-200, without hardware NAT, because LEDE doesn't support it.

Unfortunately, there is a crashing bug with the DIR-860L (same thread) that will prevent you from using SQM, but other than that, CPU power matters and maybe DIR-860L will deliver the results you expect.

On a personal note, I do own an Archer C7 v2, and very satisfied with it (WiFi range/speed, SQM and everything), but my link speed is 30/10, so way below what will overwhelm the Archer.