Permanently connect server to lower subnet

I'm not good with the terminology so don't really what to look for, but I'll explain, and sorry if too off topic I will seek elsewere.
On my network I have the ISP router (lan1) to which are connected many different people. Then there is a switch and my router running openwrt (lan2) connected to it.
I want to have a server (running http ssh) connected to the switch, so on lan1, but have it completely isolated and tunneled to my router in lan2.
What is the best way for doing this? Vpn?

If it's already tunneled. you're OK.

I surmise you're seeking Port Forwarding.

Now it's not configured yet. Is tunneling what I want?
Port forwarding is just for selected ports, I want the server to be like as if it was connected to lan2 and not lan1.

What does that exactly mean?

1 Like

Also, what exactly does this mean?

Because, I'd just say connect it to LAN2...(i.e. tell us the importance of you wanting it physically on LAN1).

:smiley: Have it not accessible and hidden from users of lan1.
Also have it part of lan2 so when I'm out I can access it with a vpn tunnel to lan2.

1 Like

Because the location where the switch is is much cooler than where my lan2 is, which is near literally in an oven. Also because it's out of the way with no access to people, close to the electrical panels.

• Assign a another LAN IP to the WAN of the OpenWrt
  • NAT all ports on that IP - to the server (i.e. a DMZ)

I don't believe i can do that, the ISP router I don't have much control over.
That is if I correctly understand how to do that.

OK...I'm lost.

I said:

And you responded:

I never mentioned your ISP's router. Perhaps you should better explain what your concept is - and how it relates to the OpenWrt device.

Or...are you saying you cannot control the ISP router to make port forwards...?

If so, you need a VPN service that allows you to have inbound network traffic - then. They're not common.