OpenWrt with SQM to reduce ping?

Hey guys I am very new to OpenWrt, I like the concept of it and am specially interested in SQM. Because I am a absolute newbie I wanted to ask for your advice.

Currently I am using a Lan-Router with a sim card that provides meh good download and upload speeds, but a way to high ping to play multiple player online games. If I understood correctly I could maybe eliminate this problem by purchasing a OpenWrt-usable Lan-Router, than flashing OpenWrt and setting up SQM. My question ist would this work or I am too short thinking?

Thank you in advance!

What does a test like waveform show you? https://www.waveform.com/tools/bufferbloat

Your unloaded ping cannot be influenced by SQM. Only loaded.

2 Likes

Tested again and got confusing results, so I deleted my first answer. bottom line is: most of the time ping "unloaded" is around 35ms, "download active": around +60 to +120ms, "upload active" around +50 to +70ms. (green latency category on the waveform website)

What is your ISP download/upload speed?

You say lan-router...does this mean you do not want WiFi?

Are you gaming wired or over WiFi?

your WAN connection needs constant/predictable bandwidth for SQM to be of good use. If your WAN has unstable/varying bandwidth, you will have a very hard time, configuring SQM to be of any good use. Mobile connections often dont have that consistency. There are some beta scripts discussed in the forum for non constant bandwith, but I don‘t have experience with those and those may require more fiddling.

If your WAN connection is of low quality, e.g. has occasional dropped packets or varying ping time over the day, even during times where the user clients are idle, SQM will not be of help.