OpenWrt -> TP-LINK TL-WPA8630P v.1 (Europe) - stripped version of OEM firmware?

Hello,
I'm a complete noob. I bought this kit used when we went into lockdown last year because all the classes I teach went online. I successfully got OpenWrt running on the TL-WPA8630P (the wifi part of the kit), but want to switch back to the original firmware. Flashing the firmware from TP-Link doesn't work ("The upload image file does not contain a supported format.) and I can't access "friedzombie.com" to get the stripped version. Does anyone have a stripped version of the V1_170315 firmware that I can use? Any ideas on how to create that from the .bin file that I have from TP-Link? Any ideas how to get back to the OEM?

I thought it would be easy to revert, but it's not. Any help would be greatly appreciate!
Thanks!

Although you have the v1 version, I think this section is still relevant to you:

1 Like

Thank you! I'll check it out now.

Unfortunately, I have no idea how to run imagebuilder or tplink-safeloader. I'm obviously in way over my head.

I had no idea that it was so incredibly difficult to revert to OEM firmware. It was easy to flash the OpenWrt firmware, but not at all straightforward flashing the OEM and I made a backup before switching to OpenWrt.

Can I run imagebuilder through terminal? or within OpenWrt under Software?

You download and run Imagebuilder on any x86_64 Linux OS (but not the router itself) and run those commands from a terminal. Someone should probably make a website that can run that on a user supplied file!

@dkonstrkt If you prefer, I can make an image for you. I'll PM you for your e-mail. Which firmware from here were you running before?

1 Like

Wow - I feel much better about reaching out to the forum despite being so ignorant. Thank you for explaining that in easy-to-understand language. I could setup Linux on an old machine (or run it on a virtual machine), but I would be incredibly grateful if you can just quickly make the image.