OpenWrt to replace pfSense?

Hi

If this post is out of place, please tell me. I am currently studying some of the documentation
for OpenWRT, but I thought that a little advice from this forum would be nice.
I'm a Linux-oriented sysadmin for a highschool in Denmark. We have about 350 users in different locations. Currently I run some x86-based pfSense-routers. I'm strongly considering to switch from pfSense to OpenWRT and this mainly because of all the drama around Wireguard we have seen lately in that arena. The atmosphere around the company behind pfSense, Netgate, can be somewhat toxic
at times. And pfSense is not really considered truely open source be me.
So I am starting to look at replacing pfSense with OpenWRT, which seems like a truely grassroot
open source project to me.
So I hope that I might get some advice on, whether this is doable for my requirements. I'm aware
that the forum-users here will be thinking very positively about OpenWRT, but you might still
be able to supply me with some objective advice.
I'm aware that OpenWRT was developed to replace firmware on wireless routers like Linksys, but
I will not be using that at all. I hope to able to run it as a general router/firewall on quite powerful hardware with 4-6 gigabit ethernet ports.
My requirements are not very complicated:

1. I have a pool of public ip-addresses that need forwarding to internal private ip's on a DMZ-like network segment from where we run web-servers etc. So my WAN-address acts like the gateway to that segment seen from the outside, and also from the inside of course. This is done with "virtual" ip's in pfSense. What would be the correct way to do this with OpenWRT?

2. General firewalling between the 4-5 network-zones. About 100 rules all in all.

3. Dns host overrides on some network-segments.

4. Static nat-ports for clients on one network-segment. Meaning no source-port randomization.

5. Static dhcp-leases on some network-segments.