Openwrt downstream on a second router

Hello

I have a TP-Link sim card router that is connect through LAN with my second router downstream (WSM20) that is running openWrt. (WAN Port on WSM20 and LAN Port on TP-Link) So far so good but I am a complete newbie and have problems to set up the connection to them, the final goal would be to run SQM on the WSM20.

thank you in advance

this should work out of the box, just make sure the tp-link LAN subnet isn't the same as on the WSM20.

1 Like

When using typing 192.168.1.0/24 in the browser, connections fails, by using 192.168.1.1 I get connected with the SIM-card router, but not the WSM20 with openwrt on it. Did the installlation and sysupgrade by WinSCP and directly connecting my laptop with LAN to the WSM20

the subnets have to be different, you'll have to change the LAN IP of the WSM20.

The /24 in the end means a range of addresses, or "subnet". Since a web browser can't connect to a range of addresses, it thinks that you are trying to connect to server 192.168.1.0, and to path "24" in it. That will surely not work. Your WSM20 should have 2 ip addresses. The upstream address assigned to it by the sim card router, and a local address that WSM20 assigns to itself. The latter is the address that you should type in the web browser. And as frollic said, the upstream subnet and the local subnet should be different. In your case, the upstream subnet is something like 192.168.1.0/24. On WSM20, you should set up a different subnet, for example 192.168.2.0/24. And assign it an address like 192.168.2.1 which belongs to that subnet.

Alternatively, if you can access your sim card router's management page, possibly you can set it up in bridge mode, so it acts like a modem and not like a router. In that case, WSM would act as a router. I personally have no experience with mobile internet modems, so I can't tell if this is feasible or not.

My current connection: SIM-router (LAN) --> OpenWrt-router (Wan)