OpenWrt - Boot from EMMC or NFS

Hi guys,

I am quite new to OpenWRT but have successfully installed version 18.06.2 on my Banana PI R2. Also the configuration was flawless and the majority of my use cases are working fine, some details need to be taken care of, but no blockers as of now.

One topic I have to deal with is to move my working installation from my SD card to EMMC or NFS (preferred is NFS boot here). I have found a lot of pages describing how to achieve NFS root in general but nothing specific to OpenWRT. So I am reaching out to you for some help... My current setup does NOT include a serial connector so if possible I would like to handle this without it. I have read about the mmc-utils which allow to "configure" the EMMC, but I am confused about how this all works with uboot, a system I have not worked with before.

A little background: I am using Raspberry PIs for the majority of network tasks at home (vpngateway, dns server with pi-hole + unbound, vpnserver with openvpn, timeserver with DCF antenna, home automation server...) so I am not completely new to this kind of boards. All my pis are booting from a NFS share, which is very convenient when it comes to backups/restores and even updates. That is why my preferred way would be to also boot my BPI R2 from the same share.

Thanks in advance to everyone trying to help!

Bye

serial is a must.... spend some time getting used to basic serial access and simple uboot commands...

from there you can step onto the other tasks with confidence.

Ok, fair enough, can you recommend a good serial connector to use with BPI?

Thanks!

https://openwrt.org/docs/techref/hardware/port.serial.cables

I will leave that to someone who has first hand experience with the Pi/BPi... i've never had the pleasure...

In general, the USB->UART boards with 5v<->3.3v jumpers or switches are handy... I've had to modify most of my UART boards to toggle TTL to 3.3v ( LM1117-3.3v>reference pin ), alot of boards don't do it well...