OpenVPN not working in 2 Router setup

First and foremost i want to mention that I'm fairly new to OpenWRT and networking in general. I've had a lot of fun building my current setup but right now i seem to have hit a wall.

What is my goal?
I'm unfortunately forced to use a cellular data router. At first that doesn't seem to be a problem. The router is quite good and UP/DOWN is pretty good too. All good and dandy if it wasn't for one small problem, my ISP doesn't issue public IP addresses to these kinds of connections. So my goal is to use my OpenWRT router (connected to LTE router) as gateway for machines/services that require a puplic ip and/or port forwarding.

What does my setup look like?
LTE Router as Gateway (192.168.8.1) connected through LAN (not PPPoE) to my OpenWrt router (192.168.8.2). The only interface that i currently use on my OpenWrt router is "LAN" using a static IP address.

What problems do i encounter?
After installing OpenVPN and importing my profile nothing seems to happen. I can enable the profile and it's seemingly working. A quick ip lookup and traceroute unfortunately reveals that my LTE router still shows up as gateway.

My explanation of my problem probably reveals that I'm pretty inexperienced with that sort of stuff.

Thanks in advance for anyone trying to help.

Follow the OpenWrt wiki to configure the VPN connection properly.
Check the system/connection log for troubleshooting.

1 Like

Thanks for the fast reply (:

I followed the instructions on the wiki for both general VPN client setups and OpenVPN. My remote OpenVPN server is working fine with other devices.

Dunno if it's worth mentioning, but traceroute now returns a "bad adress" output regardless of what address i use.

1 Like

Collect the diagnostics and post to pastebin.com redacting the private parts:

/etc/init.d/log restart; /etc/init.d/openvpn restart; \
sleep 10; logread -e openvpn; uci show network; uci show firewall; \