Off-grid messaging though OpenWrt's 802.11s mesh network

Apologies if this sub-forum is not an appropriate place for this topic. Feel free to move it to the appropriate sub-forum.

This is an idea that is inspired by the devices that goTenna are selling. Is it possible to create a 'chat system' type of package that will work with OpenWrt's 802.11s mesh network?

Ideally, I would be able to send a message from my smartphone that is connected to an openwrt router. This router will then pass it on to other openwrt routers via the mesh network. Eventually, the message will arrive to someone else's smartphone that is also connected to openwrt router and pop up on it.

I can see a couple disadvantages on this type of set up. The short range of the wifi is not ideal but there are ways to extend this. Many of the routers are not 'pocket-able' but some of them are portable enough. Off-grid and open-source are what I'm after in this idea. I'm not a developer so I wouldn't have the means to make this a reality but I'm curious to hear your thoughts on this.

Here some of my input and comments

Meshtastic is a OSS project that currently allows building LoRa based Mesh networks and off-grid communication.

It uses a different mesh protocol that used in 802.11s.

The LoRa modules are used mostly over spi but you can use Meshtastic devices over USB

The radio library used even support the nRF24L012.4 GHz module, but these are not yet supported. These use 2.4 Ghz wifi for communication.

I have been testing the Meshtastic python command line utility which can be used for messaging on OpenWRT. There is also a tunnel functionality that is in pre-alhpha stage with basic IP functionality.

With regard to 802.11s some development was done with BMX7 to add a SMS like application functionality.

Oh you can also create your own DIY Meshtastic Device

I have done using ESP32 and RA-02 Lora Module and 0.96 inch I2C Oled screen

1 Like