Obfuscate Wireguard

Hello ,

My question may sounds dumb, however I'm very new to this topic.

I bought 2 routers from GLinet.

ROUTER A was set up as a server at my house in the USA for use with wireguard.

Router B was set up as a client for me to use while traveling.

However , my company found out I'm using a VPN service, I installed and ran Wireshark, however in the protocol HTTP I see a get request and the info contains wireguard, also you can see the handshake initiation

My question is , how can I wrap my wireguard connection within some sort of TSL tunnel or obfuscate method.

More importantly how will I do this on the router itself? I have luciopenwrt installed. But other than that I'm not sure how to run code onto the router.

What are my best options

Should I just utilize a computer to host a server at home ?

Can I use the routers I currently have ?

Let's assume that:

• you have a wireguard server at your home (not your work)
  • you use the VPN tunnel so to others including your work it looks like you are home
  • you connect to your work from a work laptop via the vpn?

Then what you are asking doesn't make sense: why would you want to obfuscate the wireguard tunnel itself as it doesn't touch your work network or your work laptop at all.

Instead, your work probably detected the use of VPN in one of the following ways:

• MTU missmatch - your home network had a MTU of 1500 bytes while your wireguard tunnel has 1420
    • this is easy to "fix" but will make the tunnel slower - just increase the inner tunnel MTU to 1500
    • this will then cause the outer packets to be fragmented which is not good for performance, but will probably work
  • Your work laptop has a remote management software that scans local wifi networks and locates you abroad while your IP says that you are at your home. The only thing to do then is to disable the wifi completely and use a cable (while still changing the MTU)
2 Likes

Thanks for you response,