NordVPN Script for Effortless Server Switching

Currently Looking for some skilled developers with spare time on their hands and patience.

I am pretty new to all of this and I recently got pretty invested in my hobby. I have currently setup my Linksys 3200ACM on OpenWrt 19.07.4. I have tried to use the guide posted at NordVPN I followed it step by step but ended up having to restart and reinstall. Frustrated, mainly because I moved over from DDWRT which FlashRouters provided an app for VPNs, I searched and came across the RouterManager app which works well enough but having to enable password logins was too insecure. So, I am wondering how can I write some script to help me switch servers. I have all ready expanded the storage on my router to help accommodate the server files and there is a similar project hosted on github I tried working this out but again being quiet new to this and doing as much research as I could I didnt get it to work and I reset and reinstalled everything.

Any help would be appreciated I am currently unemployed so I am trying to hone a new skillset.

It there any particular need for scripting?
Just import the VPN profiles and switch them as you want with LuCI.

1 Like

There are 1000's of profiles unless there is a way to automate importing them this would be a non-ideal course of action. I would also like to eventually incorporate some other features. Being new at this I figure that is pretty ambitious....

if you want it automated, there are 2 ways depending if you startup openvpn via /etc/init.d/openvpn
if you use the /etc/init.d/openvpn to start up, then you can read the nordvpn profile and transfer to /etc/config/openvpn using uci commands

or you can startup the openvpn via commandline with a nordvpn profile using

openvpn --daemon --cd "$dir" --config "$config" --dev ${dev} >/dev/null 2>&1

if you are worry about password login, you can also use ssh keys and also restrict ssh shell to nologin