No internet connection on x86 router

Hello everyone,

Bear with me here, I'm new to networking and linux but I'm learning as much as I can.

I have a x86 QOTOM mini pc that I have loaded with the OpenWrt 19.07.03 release. I was able to access the GUI by connecting the QOTOM to my laptop on eth0. From there I installed a slew of packages after I connected the QOTOM to my old router, an Edgerouter X, on eth1. The ER-X is connected to my DOCSIS 3.1 Netgear CM1200 modem. My ISP is WOW Internet.

My issue occurs when I try to connect my QOTOM (which I am hoping will become my main router) directly to my modem. I am no longer able to ping google or update the package lists from the GUI. If I am not mistaken, part of the problem is because my client (laptop) is still connected to the eth0 port while my modem is connected to eth1? Shouldn't this be opposite? However, when I attempt to do this, I can no longer access the GUI for my QOTOM router.

I would greatly appreciate any help and insight.

Thanks all!

Have you set up PPPOE on the QOTOM? (although I'm not totally sure about your setup) You'll need to define that in the WAN interface and bridge your other NICs on the LAN if you have more than 2 ports. On my generic x86 it detects my nics in a funny order so you'll have to work out which they are. All of which you can do offline not attached to the modem.

And backup lots. Worth having a look for scripts to dump all your installed packages to file so you can reinstall them quickly too.

No, I did not set up PPPOE on the QOTOM. Before attempting this OpenWRT project my router was setup as DHCP. Before I had a router, when connecting my PC directly to my modem (for testing!) I set it as DHCP as well. Would I not be able to use DHCP settings for the OpenWRT router?

Also, could you elaborate a bit on how to "bridge my other NICs on the LAN"? I have 4 ports on the QOTOM.