No increase in speed after going from 50 mbs DSL to 120 mbs fiber

Hi everyone. I've been using OpenWRT for about 6 months on an Archer C7 v5. I got it because this seemed the best way to address bufferbloat and other latency issues on my 50 mbs DLS connection that my then-ISP reps were unable or unwilling to help address.

I applied one of the SQM scripts along with the interface and all was good; bufferbloat was gone. Thanks OpenWRT!

But then fiber came to my area with a different ISP and I took the opportunity to upgrade to 120 mbs fiber. Unfortunately my speed barely budged. Download speeds never approached 120 (maybe 70-80 max, occasionally) and usually much much less: 50, 40, even 20.

When I test wired in to the modem I get around the advertised 120 mbps. Seems like the slow speed has something to do with the router then.

Yes I did make sure I disabled the SQM profile, but otherwise I really don't know where to go.

I thought I should try to just restore the stock firmware but then thought I'd hail mary here to see if I can get some tips here first.

If any of you have any advice for what I should be looking at or tweaking it would be very much appreciated.

A few possibly important points:

• Router is Archer C7 V5
  • OpenWRT version is 19.07.5 r11257-5090152ae3
  • We occasionally have multiple devices connected though rarely all at the same time. And we aren't heavy users when it comes to bandwidth (no streaming for the most part).

Without SQM (and without software flow-offloading <-- test it, w/o SQM), the c7-v5 should be capable of roughly 175-200 MBit/s (more in speedtests, but then latencies go down the drain). With SQM enabled, this hardware can't quite keep up (and ~80 MBit/s would sound reasonable for that).

The figures above do not account for the (signficant) overhead PPPoE would induce, should you need that for your connection.

Do anyone have a fiber connection that doesn’t have a DHCP server at the ISP side?