No ethernet devices in x86

Hello,
I'm extremely new to OpenWRT, but I have a pretty good experience with Linux systems overall.
I have an old (early 2010s) PC which I'm using for experiments on Linux distros.
Recently, I've been trying to install OpenWRT on it and create a router and tunnel all my connections via my VPN (for government censorship and filtering circumvention).
As my first step, I'm trying to run it simply as a router. I had installed the OS successfully on my PC, but the OS does not detect any of my ethernet devices (this PC has two of them).
dmesg command did not show any errors.
Some links suggested that I should run lspci but it's not installed by default and I have no way to install it.
I have a router with internet connection and another access point to connect my other devices and I'm trying to put my OpenWRT (x86) router in between them. But OpenWRT does not detect any of those connections. I have no idea what might cause this problem and I'll really appreciate it if anyone could help me on this matter.

What chipset are the Ethernet controllers?

Could be as simple as downloading the needed kmods on another machine and copying them over, or build them into an image using imagebuilder

1 Like

The x86_64 images have the kernel modules for the most common ethernet cards pre-installed, but anything more exotic might need installing (imagebuilder/ online-imagebuilder can help with that, once you know what's to be added) - or packaging (from the mainline kernel), in case of more rare stuff.

In contrast to OpenWrt, a typical general purpose linux distribution has a lot more (~everything imaginable) preinstalled, making this easier to debug - so run a live linux USB stick of your favourite distribution and run lspci -knn there, to find out what you need. While there are other approaches to debug this from plain-OpenWrt, without any detours to other linux distributions, this tends to be the quickest and easiest.