New to Linux and problems with ISP

Greetings, I heard about OpenWRT project in Reddit but didn't see much helpful stuff there.

TL;DR : I am a pure noob looking for help installing OpenWRT with DNSCrypt or DNSmasq or DoH (IDK what to look for) on a 4/32 router.

About Me :-
I have No linux experience or network stuff knowledge either.
Using old Windows Computer and TP-Link WR841N Router (v14)

Problem :-
ISP straight up lied about custom DNS support during installation and now forces me to use their DNS servers by redirecting all Port 53 traffic to their server (not sure about redirection part).

My intention with this project :-
Learn more about this project and its uses and advatages. Stay safe from DNS Hijacking.
Bypass ISP DNS by using DNSCrypt or DoH or DNSmasq something I dont know anything about.

Looking for :-
Instructions and Precautions so that I don't damage my device (TP-Link WR841N). It is a cheap device but I cannot financially afford to buy another if this one is destroyed.

I have seen a privacy focus build here on this forum but I have no idea what any of the terms like LEDE or any of the files mean.

Will anybody guide me to correct forum or where to get more information and precautions steps?

Apparently you have a router with little flash memory of 4 / 32mb ram and openwrt would no longer work correctly but if it is only to use normal custom dns you can use openwrt but if you want to install other packages I doubt you can do it unless you use a pendrive for more Flash memory

3 Likes

Thank you for your reply @edwpat
Will it be possible for me to use the custom built firmware build that I found on the forum and linked in the post? Will my hardware version work with that one? Apologies for such questions but I have no idea how routers work.
Apparently I just need DNS encryption or something to stop my ISP from DNS Hijacking. Nothing else.

DNSCrypt v1 should be the lightest option.
DoH, DoT and DNSCrypt v2 are quite heavy.

2 Likes