New OpenWrt project - Which hardware, option?

Hi Everyone,

I am new to openWRT and excited to modify my current home network to improve both security and performance. Before jumping into my question here is the context:

I am currently running a linksys WRT-3200ACM still under original linksys firmware as my main router and an Asus RT N12 setup as additional wifi access point (no mesh) to cover first floor (mainly used by IOT devices).

I'm planning to segment my home network with 4 different VLAN (3 SSID):
-Camera (all wired with POE)
-User (laptop, NAS, home automation system - not connected to the cloud)
-IoT (for Alexa, heating system - cloud connected, TV, etc)
-Guest (only WiFi)

Something important to know is that most of my devices are wired (new house so office with laptop are wired as well as NAS, solar inverter, ventilation system, TV, Home cinema, etc). Therefor I'm not necessarily looking for the most performant wifi in term of speed but more for something stable that can handle around 20-30 wifi equipment without too much issues.
House in it self is 2 floors, around 120 square meter.

ISP connection is 125mb/8mb. I'm planning to move to 200/10, gigabit is not possible yet where I'm living. The wired network is gigabit (handled by a 24 ports netgear switch).

Now that you have the situation here is my question:
I read that the router I have (linksys WRT-3200ACM) is known for not working well regarding wireless part with openWRT. So I'm hesitating with 3 scenarios:
1/ Keeping the WRT3200ACM, hope that it will do the job in wifi and buy new router for first floor (around 100€) and configure mesh network
2/ Use WRT3200ACM for routing part, buy 2 cheap wifi router (dumb AP) for wifi provision. (budget around 150)
3/ Replace WRT3200ACM with another router and buy a second router for mesh wifi (total budget around 250)
In any case I will not use the asus RTN12 anymore.