Netgear R6100, slow 2.4g, no 5g. New router suggestions?

Hello!

TL:DR I'm unsure as to what router to get and if I can revert back to my stock firmware without bricking my device. Do I just flash it in LuCI or hit the reset button on the router? The reset puts it into some telnet safe mode right? I'm confused.

As the title says, my routers wireless isn't functioning properly. It's almost 7 years old, I think I just need a new one. The 5g radio wont turn on, even on the stock firmware.

I'm new to openWrt. It's exactly what I was looking for. However my current device is either defective or not supported by it all that well. I need to be sub channel 6 on 2.4ghz to get any speed. On the stock firmware I was on channel 9 getting decent/reliable speeds. There are a lot of other routers in the sub channel 6 range in my neighborhood.

When I first switched it to channel 4 (the one that shows no other routers) I got almost 70Mbps down. It's been very strange though. Other tests show only 3.7Mbps and it varies. Sometimes the system has no connection at all.

So I have two questions. Should I buy a new router? If so suggestions are nice. As well as in the meantime, can I flash back my original firmware from Netgear via LuCI or will it brick my device? I'd rather have some internet than no internet. It's just the other person in my home uses wifi on their device and these outages are very frustrating for them and myself.

I'm looking at this Linksys EA8300 on amazon for about $150. It's already 3 years old or so from what I see. Are there newer, better devices? I'm looking for longevity and a good product. So far Netgear has let me down twice with random/weird hardware/firmware failures.

Any help is really appreciated, thanks so much! If you read all this my apologies. I ramble.