Need some help with my setup, specially the vlans (graph included)

Hello!

First of all, please excuse my ignorance, it's my first time using OpenWRT and i'm struggling a bit

This is the network layout that i designed and intend to deploy:

Please feel free to make any suggestions for improvements and point out errors

Couple of questions:

1. I have doubts about the lan configuration on the raspberry, i'm creating 5 vlans with their own firewall zones, should i delete the original LAN interface and its firewall zone? keep it as it is (br-lan or eth0)? or use it for Management instead of Vlan10?

2. Can i keep all the network devices on the Management vlan as intended? IPs being 10.10.10.0 to 4, or is this not possible?

3. Should i disable forwarding to the wan zone on that Management vlan? i understand that this is safer but correct me if i'm wrong, and could this cause issues in the network?

4. As you can notice, the third dumb AP (port 4 on the switch) does not support OpenWRT, or any custom firmware really, since is realtek based (hence, it's a really dumb AP :stuck_out_tongue: ), so my plan is to untag everything coming from it to the Guest vlan and use MAC based vlan filter to redirect packages to Home, IoT and Security respectively, is this the correct and best approach? i know that this is a security flaw but i'll upgrade that AP in the future (all of them really, i want to deploy a mesh wireless network), this is a temporary fix

Thank you so much for reading, any help will be appreciated

1 Like

Hi,

I would use the LAN interface as the management Interface and leave it untagged for conveniance in case of misconfigurations.

1. 10.10.10.0 is not valid in case of a subnet mask 255.255.255.0
    Use 10.10.10.1-5 instead.

2. Then you're not able to update your Routers.

3. I would use static DHCP leases and create IP Firewall rules.

Your diagram looks generally okay, but there are some issues. First, though, I'll try to answer your direct questions: