Need SMB1 opkg and your help, too!

Hi I´m Somon,

New to all this coming from the IT-side of things and a newbie to Linux OpenWRT, etc. I do have some experience with using SSH to connect to a Linux console and know a few commands, etc. but I am a beginner...

I am working on a project with a Teltonika RUT955 that runs the legacy Firmware 06.08.3. The goal of the project is to be able to connect vintage Microsoft Windows95 operating systems to a Samba Share on the RUT955.

This does not work, because of Windows95 using SMB1. So my "reseach" on OpenWRT tells me that what I need is to install a compatible opkg package, that supports SMB1 on the RUT955.

On the Teltonika Forum I got this: "Teltonika routers are based on Linux OpenWRT. It uses a Busybox ash shell by default and opkg is currently supported. Before installing anything, first, enter the command opkg update and then opkg install It is also recommended to hard reset the device before doing this, so that it can have empty storage as many as possible."

My question to you good people is this: Can you please help me find such an opkg?
Unfortunately I have no idea how to find a compatible opkg for the RUT955.
It will also be a challenge for me to get it installed, but I thought this would be the ideal thing to get started on the topic.

Can someone please help me, I would greatly appreciate your time and patience!

You will need a package built specifically for that release of that version... I think only they can help you.

2 Likes

What I posted was Teltonikas FirmWare Version, OpenWRT has this version:

Linux version 3.18.44 (openwrt@a10fe4b49db8) (gcc version 4.8.3 (OpenWrt/Linaro GCC 4.8-2014.04 unknown) ) #15 Tue Nov 16 13:44:56 UTC 2021

Please provide the OpenWrt version number. I'm unaware of a supported OpenWrt running Linux 3.18.44 built in 2021.

This leads me to think you're running Teltonikas' firmware.

Windows 95??? :confused: