Need help building a minimal firmware

Hi, I have a Xiaomi Mi Router 4A Gigabit Edition and I want to use it to share v2ray vpn connection. So, I want to build a firmware that can do that with minimal flash/storage usage (because the v2ray client package is ~8.5 MBs and when I install the official build I only have 8 MBs of free space). Can someone guide me through? Or even build the package for me please?
Thank you guys.
Note: I'm really still a noob, so please be as thorough as possible. And it's really nice to have the LuCI interface (again because I'm a noob :slight_smile:)

See: https://firmware-selector.openwrt.org/?version=22.03.4&target=ramips%2Fmt7621&id=xiaomi_mi-router-4a-gigabit

1 Like

That's exactly where I downloaded my build from. I want a smaller build

Use:

Screenshot_20230501-052031_Firefox Focus

Make build smaller by editing the list.

3 Likes

as @lleachii said, you could try to disable few package and add directly v2ray to be built in, this way, if you generate image with needed packages, it will be smaller, opposite to installing v2ray after default flash image

personally i am building my images on Ubuntu, so not 100% sure in this, but something similar ... look at the end of line, this way you could add (+) and remove(-) packages in online image buider

base-files busybox ca-bundle dnsmasq dropbear firewall4 fstools kmod-gpio-button-hotplug kmod-leds-gpio kmod-mt7603 kmod-mt76x2 kmod-nft-offload libc libgcc libustream-wolfssl logd mtd netifd nftables odhcp6c odhcpd-ipv6only opkg  procd procd-seccomp procd-ujail uci uclient-fetch urandom-seed urngd wpad-basic-wolfssl -ppp -ppp-mod-pppoe +v2ray-core +v2ray-extra +luci

this package selection produce 12 MB img so in theory it should fit

1 Like

So you're saying that I copy this line to where @lleachii said and install that build??