Need help adding Huawei B310s-927

I'm a developer but I have no experience "hacking hardware" so to speak and I need to install OpenWRT on a Huawei B310s-927.

I'd really appreciate if someone could point me in the right direction. Any help would be very much appreciated.

I actually opened up the device and tried to search on google for the letters and numbers printed on the chips to see if it had sufficient ram and rom but I couldn't find anything.

I skimmed through the guide on adding a new device and the one on introduction to hardware hacking. It doesn't seem like my device has a jtag but I think I found the serial ports but I don't really know where to go from here. Although I am pretty new to hardware hacking, I am not scared of the terminal and I believe I have the hacker spirit in me so I'll pull through :slight_smile:

That's just not happening...

Thanks. You've just saved me a lot of headache and unnecessary stress. I guess I'll get a TP-Link or something like that.

If I wanted to though. How difficult would it be?

How much free time have you got, and do you own hw used for reverse engineering of ICs ?

SoC probably isn't supported by mainline Linux, so you'll have to start there.

1 Like

Neither SOC- nor WLAN support, so you'd have to start with Adam and Eve - adding a new target (and mainlining it!), starting development for a wireless driver (and mainlining it!). You'd be looking at years of work for multiple seasoned developers - presumably with zero participation from Huawei, no data sheets, little-to-nothing to go by.

Possible? - only in the sense that 'anything' is possible (if you can throw enough resources at it).
Realistic? - not at all.

Precedence? - look at the fate of the Huawei ax3, one of the first 802.11ax based wireless routers, available worldwide, plenty and very cheap, still dead in the water.

2 Likes

Okay, you're definitely right.