My Netgear DG834Gv4 is not bricked but I am having trouble installing the original FW

Hi everyone,

I am new to OpenWrt world but I was curious and wanted to try it with an old router I had stored (a netgear DG834Gv4). I followed the tutorial on OpenWrt's website (https://openwrt.org/toh/netgear/dg834g.v4) and I was able to install OpenWrt 15.05 on the device.

I was able to telnet to the device and set a root password. I was also able to SSH to the device and access it through the browser (LuCI was installed by default).

The problem is that the device is super slow, I know this is probably caused by the low RAM and flash but I just wanted to try OpenWrt..

Since the device is pretty much unusable as it is I wanted to revert to its original state but I am having trouble doing this.

What I have tried:
I compiled the NFTP utility, ran the file but it always got stuck in the function where it is expecting data from the router. I tried doing this with the router normally turned on and tried running NFTP and turning the router only afterwards. Both got stuck expecting data from the router.

I created a virtual machine with a 32-bit version of Windows 10 and tried to run the recovery utility supplied by Netgear, It also got stuck when trying to upload the new firmware.

I tried the TFTP client but it also got stuck, it was not able to copy the firmware to the device. (Maybe this only works when the device is bricked?)

Lastly, I tried to use mtd (as suggested on https://openwrt.org/docs/guide-user/installation/generic.uninstall) but did not even got the part where I run the mtd program :sweat_smile: .. Because the device does not have internet I could not perform the wget command to get the original firmware on the device, so I tried to copy the firmware using WinSCP (on a windows machine) but it always ended up failing to copy the firmware.

In light of this, what else can I try to get the original firmware back on the device?