Manually upgrading transmission package on OpenWrt 18.06.02?

I am running transmission (daemon, cli, web and remote) v2.93 (3c5870d4f5) from the official OpenWrt package repository and I would like to update it to the latest available on the official site, which is v2.94( d8e60ee44f).

Is there an easy way to achieve it? Do I have to recompile it manually? Or is there any official source I could add to get the ipk in a straightforward way? (I am pretty new to Linux).

Thanks in advance.

1 Like

If it’s not available from the repo for your device and release, you’d have to modify the package Makefile and build it yourself. Building it into an image would be wise, as I believe it may depend on packages that may have changed significantly since you installed them.

1 Like

Thank you.

I find it too difficult as I have never compile anything, so I will wait for the official repo to get updated.

2 Likes

We might be waiting a while until v19, transmission isn't well maintained

Hold on here, before you go pointing fingers....

• Pretty much all involved are volunteers and do this in their spare time
  • You're more than welcome to contribute

Regarding releases there are a few things that may not be apparent for everyone.

• There are no "teams" handling different releases (due to lack of interest/not enough people)
  • OpenWrt releases are branched relatively infrequent and master branch tends to diverge quickly
    This might involve core libraries getting updated, change of kernel versions (4.9 to 4.14 etc) etc
  • Most devices aren't based on x86/x86-64 architecture which makes testing quite a bit more complicated than just firing up a VM.