Luci will not install on 19.07.5 - Kernel dependency issue

Hi Team,

I have a problem with the 19.07.5 release. I tried to install Luci and got an error suggesting that a kernel dependency was to blame.
My version just installed:
Index of (root) / releases / 19.07.5 / targets / x86 / 64 /
Installed [combined-squashfs.img.gz] from (https://downloads.openwrt.org/releases/19.07.5/targets/x86/64/openwrt-19.07.5-x86-64-combined-squashfs.img.gz)

I installed in then did
opkg update
opkg install luci

Resulting in Luci requires: Kernel 5.4.86-alphabet
Uname -a returns: Linux openwrt 6.4.85 #0

Now I am brand new to openwrt but have a lot of linux experience. It appears to me that the if I do a opkg install - it should look in a place for the appropriate installation package - especially for one of the one of the standard releases. Instead - it appears to be getting Luci from the latest spot release.

How do I resolve this issue?

Any help greatly appreciated.

Cheers,
Peter

If you are using an official stable release (as it appears you are), LuCI is already installed. Have you tried simply entering the IP address of the OpenWrt system into your web browser? What happens?

https://openwrt.org/docs/guide-user/virtualization/qemu#preparation

1 Like

Hi all,

Thanks for your quick responses. When I try the OpenWRT IP address in a browser - nothing happens.
If I do a search of the installation
find / -name "LuCI" -print yields nothing
find / -name "luci" -print yields
/tmp/opkg-lists/openwrt_luci.sig
/tmp/opkg-lists/openwrt_luci
which to my knowledge are not installations but are temp packages of available packages and attempted installs.

In response to Peter and vgaetera,