LOG only ip address forwarding, optimization

Hi, sorry for my English. I'm studying it better, I promise :innocent:

I'm using OpenWRT on a small router configured as a switch. I find it fantastic.
I have been studying statistics for a few years and I would like to explore different networking topics.
I would like to log all the IP addresses that pass through my device and then collect them on an external server (rsyslog I already know).

I was advised to set different rules on iptables by calibrating the "log level" to receive only the information I need (only ip) but I'm still not satisfied.

Iptables seems to me to save a lot of information that is useless to me and I would not like this to impact the performance of the device.
(650 Mhz single core processor and 128 Mb RAM, 16Mb rom)

How can I only register ip addresses without weighing on device performance?
Are there any "tips and tricks"?

Thanks in advance for your answers :smiley:

There are three places I can easily think of getting information about the packets:

• From the iptables rules as log statements
  • From the established connections using conntrack (this will not give packet counts, just that a connection exists)
  • From the packets themselves using tcpdump or the like

If you're using it as a switch, this may be challenging or impossible, as the packets generally won't go through the CPU, so they aren't "visible". Generally only those packets being routed through and those to/from the router itself will be seen by the CPU.

You may be able to use a "mirror port" on the switch and another port to monitor ("snoop") them with the CPU.

You may have problems with the CPU power monitoring more than somewhere around 100 mbps.

1 Like