Local DNS (w or w/o DHCP?)

Hi there!

I'm very very new to LEDE !
I just received a BT homehub5, setup with LEDE.
I do not intend to use it as modem or router, just as dummy wifi AP + ethernet switch.

But while looking around in the options, I have seen "DNSmasq".

I was wondering if I could use it has a kind of local DNS.
let me explain:
for example, if I have a NAS at ip 192.168.1.63 and I want to call this NAS "robert"
Then, I would like that if I type "http://robert" on any computer in my home, I shall go to http://192.168.1.63. Is this possible? if yes, how can I do ? :slight_smile:

So far, I use the DHCP from my ISP box, but I could use the DHCP from LEDE instead (if necessary for this DNS idea).

Best regards,

1 Like

If you configure OpenWrt/LEDE via web Interface, go to Network -> Hostnames and enter the desired hostname+adress there.

You can keep your curent DHCP server if you want to, just ensure that the DHCP clients receive the IP-adress of your LEDE box as DNS server

Ok, so:

• I keep my DHCP, but replace my current DNS settings (in DHCP) with my LEDE ip address. Then, computers will 1st go through LEDE to find any local address.
  • I set in hostname any name I would like to give to my NAS, servers etc...
  • I guess I shall maybe set in LEDE the external DNS server for everything that is not on my LAN? (I mean the internet DNS, like openDNS or google DNS or whatever ?)
    shall I use this "DNS forwarding" section in "DHCP and DNS" ?
    This "DHCP and DNS" section is a bit confusing to me if I use only the DNS part and not DHCP.

Yes, you can use the DNS server provided by your ISP, or use a public one.

Hi!
I set a couple of hostsnames and their matching ip address.
I set my computer to use my lede device as dns (192.168.1.252).
But it seems not enough to make that I can use the hostname in my browser instead of ip.

Did I missed something?