Lede maintenance questions

i'm new to lede i've read alot of faq and how to, but i still have some doubt
as i've already done i've installed and i'm currently using lede, for the upgrade i read there is the sysupgrade file i should use instead of factory image, as the guide say (using luci web interface) the correct procedure is to backup the config, then uncheck "keep settings" then update the firmware with sysupgrade file bin and when it is done restore the backup we done before
my questions are:

1. is that right or i miss something?
  2. this is right only for point release or is always good even if i will update from 17.1 to a future 19 or i should update every point or major release? or it depend release or routers?

I have been a recent convert to LEDE, having used stock firmware, DD-WRT, and OpenWRT.

I would not go back.

If you are going from stock OEM firmware to LEDE, you likely want the "...squashfs-factory.bin" for most routers (some do not have one).

https://lede-project.org/toh/views/toh_fwdownload

I have updated LEDE from 17.01.2 to 17.01.3 and kept the previous settings, with no issues.

YMMV

1. So using the sysupgrade image if lede is already installed seems correct.
  2. Keeping back-up copies of the old router's configuration seems like a good idea. (Personally, I always make a copy of the router's /overlay directory onto another computer before upgrading, as that will contain all files that where modified not only those that are specified for back-up, specifically it also back-ups installed opkg packes, allowing a complete roll-back to the old install in case the new version has issues).
  3. I do not believe that "unchecking keep settings" is any more inferior to the proposed "backup configuration" and "restore configuration" approach, both will work just fine most of the times.