LEDE in the cloud

Hello
I've solved my problem-but hopefully this thread can help others/tell me why I had to do it the way I did.

Basically, I wanted to put a LEDE instance in the cloud-which seems a bit strange-but the reason for this was to use the excellent Luci interface-specifically, luci-app-statistics and collectd. Reason is, I have some remote probes which I wanted to all send back their information to one master server. I did investigate trying to build a collectd on its its own-but I'm not a Linux expert-and I thought why go through all that, when LEDE/OpenWRT gives me that already :slight_smile:

I've built it on Vultr (is a bit cheaper than Digital Ocean, and is as easy to use). Here's the funny thing though-I wanted the stats to be persistent across reboots (defaults to /tmp on install so you lose all stats if you need to reboot)-but when I used the LEDE x86 image from scratch (using this guide ) , the whole /root system would come up as read-only when I change the directory from /tmp/rrd to something like /etc/rrd.
I tried various solutions (thankfully Vultr bills you on an hourly rate, so you can destroy images at will, and then build a new one-they really are very good!) but in the end, the only way to have LEDE as the working build was to install the Chaos Calmer OpenWRT image -and then upgrade to LEDE! I have no idea why I had to to do it this way, hence the post-I am guessing it is to do with either the mounting of the disks-or some rw/ro permissions on LEDE.
Any thoughts would be most welcome-I'm happy with what I have now, all my remote LEDE/OpenWRT/Rasp Pi's running collectd are happily sending back their stats to the Vultr server, and can be accessed via the normal Luci web interface.

Cheers

Have you tried importing LEDE image as snapshot and deploying that?
I was using it like that for some time

1 Like

Robert